Life is a Gamble..period.

Like gambling there are many things that are pre-decided before you are born. Your name, religion,parents, economic condition and many more. The day you are born people around you start to influence your thoughts. You start copying. The fun part is you are unaware of all this. You think you are unique in all ways and then one day you behave just like your mother or father. You questions – what if I was born to some other parents, some other country, some other religion?! That comes up as a shock. And why not? So far you kept thinking your destiny is in your hands.

Yes, there are many inspiring stories from rags to riches. They do make you feel good. They fill you with hope but then you think of statistics and it is depressing. Those stories are probably one in a million. I mean- what if I was born in a war torn country like Syria?Would I have had the opportunity to read, write? would I be writing this blog? Or would I be living in a refugee camp wondering when will I get some food. What if I had been born to drug addict parents? I probably would be in foster care, about to become a drug victim myself Or probably in a care home filling my unending quest for love with anger.

I am not saying that people born in war torn regions or to drug addict parents don’t stand a chance of better life. I wish from the bottom of my heart that every child gets opportunities to make his/her life better and I am and will keep making that little contribution towards it. But I know it will be hard, very hard!

Few may think that I must have had a fairy tale life so far. Probably…Depends on who you compare against. Being born in a middle class family in a small town, I had been living in my own little world. I would envy my friends for the things they had and I didn’t. ‘she has her own bedroom’. ‘she goes on a holiday every year. Seeing places’. ‘ he has a car’ ! I wasn’t worried about gun shots. I didn’t know they exist. My father used to say that there are people in this world who don’t have food to eat. I didn’t know what he was talking about. We didn’t have charity advertisements back then. If I understood what he meant, I probably would have stopped fighting with myself. After all I had a decent start in my life. Loving, caring parents, shelter, food, security, education and most importantly freedom.

I don’t think you shouldn’t dream of being richer,brighter or stronger. You must have some objective to your life. Having an objective fills the life with hope and makes the present better. But when you do so remember that life is a Gamble. You can play your best and hope for the best. But the rules are not yours. The control is not in your hands. If you have had a good start in your life the game is on your side. You could loose but the probability of winning is more. Don’t ruin it. If you had a bad start, there is a chance that you might loose. You can still win though but you will have to try harder. You may have to start new games. Controls change, rules change, life changes. Present is the reality. Destiny is the illusion.

8 thoughts on “Life is Gamble

  1. What should we compare ourselves with that we are blessed to have food on time(bloody all the three meals) or those who don’t know what a meal is? Doesn’t matter. As these are mostly temporary phases/ moments/ episodes in anyone’s life, we think for sometime some of us might donate aswell (some of us write too, I’m not referring to you Sonali :p). This moment passes, phases go on, episodes terminate and we as a normal human being troll on to usual life of earning and accumulating (except few).

    Like

    • For some people this is not just a phase but a reality that lasts for really long. Sometimes for whole of life. For some people it’s an easy start than others. The article is about cherishing that good start instead of moaning over pity things. For some of us donating is integrated part of life, infact i have made a referenxe to it in the article, but the article is not about it. It helped me get over pity things in life, if my writing even helps one more person then I will think it was worth the try

      Like

  2. Nice article sonali, it’s interesting to read…I feel it’s a good to be feeled like we are blessed with good life and good surrounding, this way we can merely understand the unblessed people and can do something to make their life Better…………. Keep writing

    Like

Leave a comment